Vegetate

Vegetate= “engage in passive relaxation”.  Yep, that’s exactly what this gal did today. My body needed sleep, my mind needed to unwind, I needed time for “me”.  So, what did I do today?

First, I slept in…I mean realllllly slept in! I woke up at 7:30am to let the dog out, went back upstairs, turned the fan on high, jumped back in bed, pulled the covers over my head, and decided that I was going to sleep like there was no tomorrow baby……or until my body told me it was time to wake up!  Hopefully I’ll wake up? Next thing I know, I made the mistake of peeping at the clock , it said 12:30pm, and I was like hoooollly crap and immediately jumped out of bed. Ok, so I didn’t sleep as long as my body apparently needed (sadly) but boy, it still felt good…and well, a little bit naughty.

I didn’t worry about the world or anyone else for that matter today. My beloved Sunday newspaper is still in it’s plastic bag sitting on my coffee table, waiting for me to read it…maybe tomorrow, maybe never.  I also managed to go all day (until now) without touching my laptop.

I read “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” and escaped to London and that small island in the English Channel for a while. Loving that little darn book.

I laughed my ass off reading some David Sedaris. I also listened to some David Sedaris and laughed my ass off some more. Felt nice.

I caught up on some magazine reading…Better Homes & Garden, Midwest Living, InStyle.

I listened to some music.  Some Pixies and Ani Difranco and Corinne Bailey Rae. You know, I go through these phases where I get addicted to a song or songs and can’t get enough of them…right now it’s Ani’s “I loved you so what”, Corinne’s “Choux Pastry Heart” and “Put Your Records On”, and “Hey” by the Pixies. Especially “Hey”. I’ve been listening to it all week over and over and over,  the music and beat won’t leave my head….I can’t get enough of it for the moment.

At about 4pm, I decided a shower was probably a decent idea. Better late than never, right? I dried my hair but didn’t bother with the whole styling cockamamie. I also didn’t bother with any make-up…because in my opinion, an official vegetation day means NOT leaving the house (and hoping no one shows up at yours).

This posed a problem when it came to making dinner….my options were somewhat limited but I was not, under any circumstances, going to the store today. Hmmm…there were some shrimp in the freezer and a head of broccoli in the fridge, some rice in the pantry. Szechwan Shrimp Stir Fry it is then! I will share the recipe with you:

Recipe: Szechwan Shrimp Stir Fry

Szechwan Shrimp

 

 

 

 

 

 

Servings: 4

You’ll notice snow peas are listed in the ingredients below, but not in the picture above..that’s because I didn’t have any in my fridge (boo!)…but typically add them to this recipe.  Also, feel free to add any other veggies you like such as red peppers or water chesnuts or bean sprouts (one of my faves-again, none in the fridge). The sauce is also great with scallops.

Ingredients

12 ounces fresh shrimp, peeled and deveined

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup ketchup

3 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce

1 tablespoon cornstarch

2 teaspoons honey

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper

1/2 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced

1 teaspoon chili garlic sauce

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1/2 cup sliced green onions

2 teaspoons garlic, minced

1 cup broccoli, chopped

1 cup snow peas, strings removed

Directions:

1. In a small bowl, mix together water, ketchup, soy sauce, cornstarch, honey, ginger, crushed red pepper, and chili garlic sauce.

2. Heat vegetable oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add garlic and green onions and sautee for 1-2 minutes. Add shrimp and cook until pink on all sides (about 2 minutes).  Add broccoli and snow peas and cook for another 2 minutes. Add sauce, stir well, and cook until sauce is thickened and heated through and veggies are tender.

Serve over steamed rice. Easy, healthy, and tasty!

Yum, yum, yum.

I then had an orange popsicle.

Kimmy and I watched Harper’s Island on the DVR.

After that, the most exciting part of my day……the new “Next Food Network Star”. Whoopie!

Inspired by maybe being a food network star one day, I decided it was time to post a new blog….so here I am.

Now, since my official vegetation day is not over yet, I think I’ll escape again to that little Island in the English Channel called Guernsey….so long for now.

One thought on “Vegetate

Leave a Reply

