Old-fashioned things make me happy

Yes, I have a penchant for old-fashioned, retro, nostalgic, vintage or whatever you want to call them thingies. Here’s a  tour of SOME of the things that make me happy, make me smile, and make my heart go pitter patter just a little faster:

1) Vintage/retro aprons.

Gosh darn, I love ’em. I love to cook and I love cute little aprons. They make me feel official, like Betty freaking Crocker…..not to mention the cute appeal. I hope to have an amazing apron collection one day. Here’s an apron that I have my eye on for Fall. Oh so adorable.

dorothyapronorange[1]

2) Old Movies. 

As a little girl,  I was completely mesmerized by films such as Roman Holiday, Sabrina, Casablanca, It’s a Wonderful Life, Miracle on 34th Street, Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  <Sigh> I would like to thank these films for my life-long, unrealistic expectations in the romance department. “Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.”

draft_lens2386903module13543270photo_1232420409casablanca[1]

3) Retro Cookbooks. This is another collection I’m working on. I’d love to have a HUGE bookshelf in my kitchen filled with old, vintage cookbooks. That would be so cool.

ac110f86be62f250[1]

4) Old-fashioned candy stores. Need I say more.

2566076061_aa53429fc3[1]

5) Claw foot tubs

t_B1-1600-WW-DM7-M2-15-PB[1]

6) Old-fashioned diners. 

 It probably comes as no surprise that my favorite show on the Food Network is “Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives”.

diner[1]

7) And I want one of these…

stove[1]

Or maybe this one…

front[1]

 

I could go on and on but I won’t torture you any longer. So, there you have it….it’s official…I was born about 40 years too late.

I will leave you with a song by one  my favorite singers…just seems appropriate for this post.

Leave a Reply

