Sausage Gravy and Biscuits

This recipe takes me back to my Grandma Margie’s house where I spent many summers as a little girl….mostly getting in trouble with my sisters (and occasionally my cousin Doug too) or traipsing through the woods with my Grandpa Paulie while he shared his love and knowledge of indians, birds, and trees with us…..he was a living, breathing, walking nature encyclopedia. Margie & Paulie (note: we weren’t allowed to call them Grandma & Grandpa. I know, crazy,huh? Perhaps it’s because my sisters and I were such heathens that they didn’t want to claim us? lol) lived in a big, old white farmhouse located southeast of Chillicothe, Ohio and had quite a bit of land. They had a HUGE garden and grew everything from onions, cabbage, carrots, beets (ew), cucumbers, corn, tomatoes, potatoes, watermelons, green beans….you name it, they pretty much grew it.

I can vividly remember waking up in the early morning to the smell of Margie frying sausage for homemade sausage gravy and biscuits.  Mmmm. The bedroom that my sister Jennie and I slept in was located directly above the kitchen and had this little secret staircase that ran from our room to the kitchen. We never used that staircase though…because it was darn creepy, but nevertheless, it allowed the kitchen smells to work their way up to our room. 

I think my love of breakfast stems from those summers spent at Margie & Paulie’s house…mostly because we always ate dinner mid-afternoon and we were never allowed to have any snacks after that…so I pretty much went to bed starving every night and woke up still starving….hence, I couldn’t wait to eat breakfast. I love breakfast. So much so, that I have made it a Christmas Eve tradition in our house to serve “breakfast for dinner”…a breakfast feast like none other that my girls always look forward to every year. I make sausage, bacon, pancakes, hashbrown potatoes, and of course…..sausage gravy and biscuits. I know for a long time I was afraid to make sausage gravy because it seemed so hard, but it’s really very easy.

RECIPE: Sausage Gravy & Biscuits

Serves 5-6

Ingredients:

1 (12 oz) package Bob Evan’s Original Sausage (or your sausage of choice)

4 tablespoons butter

1/4 cup flour

4 cups milk

1/8 tsp garlic powder

Sea salt and pepper to taste

1 can (7.5 oz) buttermilk biscuits, prepared

Directions:

1. Place sausage in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium-high heat until evenly brown. Remove sausage with a slotted spoon, leaving the drippings in the pan.

2. Stir in the butter until melted. Add flour, and stir until smooth. Reduce heat to medium, and cook until light brown (this is called making a “roux”).

3. Gradually whisk in milk. When the mixture becomes smooth, thickened, and begins to bubble, stir in the cooked sausage. Season with garlic powder, salt and pepper (I like lots of salt and pepper). Reduce heat, and simmer for 12 to 15 minutes. If gravy becomes too thick, stir in a little more milk.

4. Serve over split buttermilk biscuits.

Note: you can refrigerate the extra gravy and biscuits. They reheat well in the microwave!

9adc5d499f4d9900

Leave a Reply

