Smore Pie? Oh. My. Gosh.

I was up at 1am last night watching the Food Network.  I really should have been sleeping but I couldn’t peel my eyes away from the TV.  I was watching a special show on “chocolate” and different chefs were discussing their all-time favorite chocolate desserts.  Alton Brown’s favorite was this homemade chocolate pudding from  the Hominy Grill in Charleston, SC. Ooooh, it looked sooooooooo good. But then….came Bobby Flay’s favorite…… are you ready?…..a  decadent smore pie from the Buckeye Roadhouse in California. Holy hell.  Pure delicious looking evil. Right up my gluttonous alley. That’s all I can say.  Here’s a picture I found online:

I mean if THIS doesn’t evoke campfire memories, of ooey gooey burnt mashmallows, melted chocolate, and graham crackers with an accidental wood flake thrown in, I don’t know what will. I have GOT to make this. I’m going to research recipes today……

 Okay, UPDATE….found a recipe that looks divine courtesy of Smitten Kitchen.  I’ll let you know how it turns out. Here’s a link to the recipe: http://smittenkitchen.com/2008/06/smore-pie/ .

ANOTHER UPDATE: See the “comments” section below for the actual Smore Pie recipe from Buckeye Roadhouse…..holy schmoly…….give a big thank you to Sabine everyone!

13 thoughts on “Smore Pie? Oh. My. Gosh.

  1. I found the recipe for the s’more pie after a bit of searching. Saw it on the Food Network and had to try it. I came across your post during my search and though I would share the joy.

    S’mores Pie
    Serves 6

    From Robert Price, executive chef of Buckeye Roadhouse.

    The chocolate sauce:
    4 ounces bittersweet chocolate
    3 tablespoons butter
    1 tablespoon brandy
    1 tablespoon Grand Marnier
    2 1/2 tablespoons corn syrup
    2 1/2 tablespoons heavy cream
    The graham cracker crust:
    1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
    3 tablespoons sugar
    4 ounces (1 stick) unsalted butter
    2 tablespoons honey
    The meringue:
    1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
    2 packets of Knox powdered gelatin
    2 1/2 tablespoons corn syrup
    1 1/4 cups sugar
    4 egg whites
    — Pinch of cream of tartar
    To assemble the pie:
    1/4 cup toasted chopped almonds
    1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons semisweet chocolate chips
    For the chocolate sauce: Pour an inch of water into a large saucepot and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Turn heat down to a simmer. In a medium bowl, combine chocolate, butter, brandy, Grand Marnier and corn syrup and place the bowl over the simmering pot of water. Stir frequently and once ingredients are melted, remove bowl from heat and stir in cream. Set aside.

    For the graham cracker crust: In a large bowl, mix the graham cracker crumbs, sugar, butter and honey until well combined. Press the mixture evenly into a 10-inch pie tin. Spread about a 1/2 cup of the chocolate sauce over the crust. Set aside.

    For the meringue: Combine 1/2 tablespoon of cold water with the vanilla extract in a small bowl. Sprinkle the gelatin over the vanilla mixture and set aside.

    Combine 1/2 cup of water, corn syrup and sugar in a heavy bottomed pot and bring to a boil. Place a candy thermometer in the sugar mixture and cook until the temperature reaches 240° degrees. This is known as the soft ball stage.

    While the sugar mixture is cooking, whip the egg whites and cream of tartar in an electric mixer until they form soft peaks.

    When the sugar reaches 240°, remove from the heat and carefully pour over whipped egg whites while the mixer is on low speed.

    Add dissolved gelatin mixture and mix on medium high speed until well incorporated. The meringue should be warm and hold soft peaks.

    To assemble the pie: Preheat oven to 450°.

    Spread the almonds over the bottom of the pie crust, followed by 1/4 cup of the semisweet chocolate chips. Pour about 1/3 of the meringue over the nuts and chocolate chips. Drizzle remaining chocolate sauce across the meringue, sprinkle remaining chocolate chips. Finish off with remaining meringue, mounding it toward the center with an offset spatula to create a domed effect.

    With a hot knife, divide pie into 6 equal slices. Place the slices on a sheet pan and toast in the oven, about 5 minutes or until the meringue is golden brown. Serve right away.

    Read more: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2008/11/04/FDBA13N2VU.DTL&type=food#ixzz0guQNFMZN

  2. I cooked this recipe today. I think the gelatin should be dissolved in 1/2 cup, rather than 1/2 tablespoon, of cold water. I adjusted the recipe and it was perfect. I also added more chocolate chips.

  3. Forgot to add that I used Scharffenberger chocolate – yum!
    If you don’t wish to consume the whole pie at once, cut it into 8 pieces and put in the refrigerator. One can remove a piece from the fridge, bring it to room temp, while preheating the oven, and then bake. It takes anywhere from 7-10 minutes to reach a lovely, toasty golden brown. I brought several slices with baking instructions, to a family where one member was recovering from surgery. It was a great success.

  4. I don’t even know what to say. I am 8 months pregnant and have dreamed about this pie since the day I saw it on the Food Network. Thankm you so much…My family and friends went gaga over this pie.

  5. Hi–just discovered your site. We did a roundup of s’more goodies on the site yesterday and neglected Buckeye Roadhouse. Shame on us! Thanks (belatedly) for a great post. Hope to see you more often on Twitter. 🙂

    • Thanks Erika! Ah, yes, I have been slacking on the Twitter! Thanks for the reminder! 🙂 By the way, I just checked out your online mag and love it. What a great idea!

  6. Thank you! I too saw the foodnetwork show and haven’t stopped thinking about the pie. I couldn’t find it on the internet until today when I found this page! I am SOOOO happy! Thanks.

    Mary Gair, Muskoka, Ontario

  7. Hi! I saw this recipe and was really excited to try it. I was going to a friend’s for BBQ lunch, so I made it in the morining and did not bake it right away. I put it in the fridge for an 1.5hrs then brought to my friend’s place. It was refrigerated for another 2-3hrs. Took it out, let it warm up & then put it in the oven for 8 minutes at 450F.
    It looked great, but when we cut into it – it was a big soupy mess! All the meringue insude had melted. It still tasted pretty good, but looked awful. Any ideas about what went wrong??
    I don’t make meringue often & now I remember why 🙂

    Also – has anyone tried baking the crust? I found it odd not to bake a crust for a pies like this. My crust was mushy for obvious reasons.
    Thanks!
    Andrea

  8. Hi Andrea! I apologize for the delay in responding…was on vacation followed by a hectic week at work! I did pre-bake my crust for about 10 minutes at 400 degrees and then broiled the top of it a for a few minutes to brown it a bit as I’m not a fan of soggy crusts either. However, I’ve seen many recipes like this where the crusts aren’t baked….I think it’s just a personal preference.

    As far as the meringue, I will admit while I can make a killer dinner, I sort of kind of stink at making desserts (smile) so I don’t have a ton of experience with meringues. However, I can think of a few things that possibly could have affected the outcome. Meringues are very sensitive to heat/humidity so if it was hot out when you took the pie to your friends it could have affected it. Also, room temp eggs/egg whites firm up the best so if your eggs were cold out of the refrigerator when you whipped the whites that could make a difference. The only other thing I can think of that’s important and some people overlook is cooking the sugar mixture to the right temp. And that’s all I got! Hope this helps somewhat! If any of you dessert experts out there have any mergingue tips, please chime in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

