Roasted Vegetable Lasagna

Let me be the first to say, that was some amazing lasagna-palooza that I promised….and then….. I don’t post again for over a month.  Wow, I rock. Not. Haha.  I apologize…..my life has been a bit out of sync lately……and I have been all out of focus…. but I think I have my mojo back. Lucky you. 🙂 Oh, who am I kidding,  no one really cares about my little ole lasagna-palooza anyway. I just write into this big internet void and pretend that people actually read my recipe blog.  It’s a fun game actually. I like make believe….it dates back to my childhood when I thought I had an extremely good chance of growing up to be a princess….despite the lack of royalty in my blood.

Alright, alright, alright…back to lasagna. So, this next lasagna recipe is a lighter one and a vegetarian one. ….  a la roasted vegetable lasagna. Mmmm. Roasted vegetables. We are hosting a German exchange student right now and she is a vegetarian so thankfully my carnivore self  had this in my recipe repertoire…..

RECIPE: Roasted Vegetable Lasagna

Serves 9

Ingredients:

1 eggplant, cut into 1 inch slices

3 each zucchini, sliced 1/4 inch

3 each summer squash, sliced 1/4 inch

2 red bell peppers, cut into 1 inch strips

3 Tablespoons olive oil

1/2 teaspoon garlic, minced

Kosher Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

15 ounces low-fat ricotta

2 each eggs (or 1/4 cup egg substitute)

1/4 cup parmesan

1/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning

1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped

Approx. 3 cups marinara sauce or your favorite spaghetti sauce

9 each lasagna noodles, cooked

2 cups mozzarella cheese, shredded

2/3 cup goats cheese

3 Tablespoons basil leaves, finely chopped

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray two cookie sheets/baking pans with non-stick cooking spray. Place the eggplant slices on one prepared pan and the zucchini, squash, and red pepper on the second pan. Combine the oil and garlic and brush over both sides of vegetables. Sprinkle with kosher salt and pepper. Bake, uncovered, at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. Turn vegetables over. Bake 15 minutes longer. Remove eggplant. Bake zucchini, squash and red pepper about 5-10 minutes longer or until edges are browned.

2. While vegetables are roasting, cook lasagna noodles according to package directions. Drain and set aside.

3. In a small bowl, mix together the ricotta, eggs, parmesan cheese, parsley, and italian seasoning.

4. To layer: Spread  1/4 cup marinara sauce in a 9×13 baking dish coated with nonstick cooking spray. Layer with 3 lasagna noodles, half of ricotta cheese mixture, half of vegetables, 1 cup of marinara sauce,  and 3/4  cup mozzarella cheese. Sprinkle with half of basil and 1/3 cup of goats cheese. Repeat layers. Top with the 3 remaining noodles, marinara sauce, and mozzarella cheese.

5. Cover and bake at 350 degrees F for 40 minutes. Uncover and bake approximately 10 minutes longer or until edges are bubbly and cheese is melted. Let stand for 10 minutes before cutting.

Leave a Reply

