Chipotle Chicken Burritos

I. Love. Chipotle.

Seriously, their burritos are……. EPIC.

Best. Fast. Food. Invention. Ever.  

Ahhh, the flour tortillas, the cilantro lime rice, and the options…lordy be, there are so many options…….fajita vegetables, black beans, or pinto beans? Carnitas, barbacoa or adobo marinated chicken or steak?  Fresh tomato, roasted chili-corn, tomatillo-green, or tomatillo-red salsa? Then the other heavenly options of velvety smooth sour cream, cheese (my favorite food group), guacamole, chopped romaine lettuce…..oh, me oh my, my mouth is watering just thinking about it. I remember feeling so overwhelmed the first time I went to Chipotle and thinking holy batman, I don’t know what I want…so many decisions. Eek….eeeek….hurry…..there are people behind you. I felt so rushed. However, after several visits….I landed on my personal favorite combination:

Rice, black beans, chicken, red-tomatillo sauce (extra please…don’t be afraid…..that’s not enough….I’m a girl but not a spice wimp chica….yes, a little more….thank you), sour cream (oooh, that was a little too much….oh well), and cheese (more more more more…..).

So, the other day,  I was on a cold, wintry, early morning walk and all I could keep thinking about was devouring a Chipotle burrito (roar…that’s the sound my hungry stomach makes)….as a reward for my walk. I deserve it. Right? I know, I know, it kind of (okay, 100%) defeats the purpose of the walk……. zip it. We won’t go there. Anyway, I got the grand idea that I was going to try and re-create making Chipotle burritos at home. I know, impossible you say. However, impossible is not in my vocabulary and I love a good challenge. Therefore……

I immediately started researching Chipotle recipes on the internet. To be honest, for once, I have to say the internet let me down a bit……where is the perfect Chipotle copycat recipe?!  Ag! I then found a website called Chipotle Fan.com and I poured through their recipes.  I ended up using their chicken recipe but ad-libbed a bit on the other stuff. I must say it came pretty darn close. My daughter said “wow, mom, these are really good.” That translates to “kick @ss good” in case you are wondering. I mean who am I kidding to think I can do better than Chipotle….I can’t…..but I must admit they turned out very, very good….and….. because I’m the nice, sweet, and kind person that I am, I decided to share this with you. Yes, you are welcome.

Here we go:

RECIPE: Chipotle Chicken Burritos

First, the chicken (note, it is best made the day before and marinated overnight….oh yes, let those flavors ooze themselves into the chicken I say):

Chicken Ingredients:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

2 serrano peppers, stems removed

1 can (7 oz) chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

1 teaspoon pepper

2 teaspoon cumin

2 teaspoons fresh oregano

6 cloves garlic

2 teaspoons salt

1/2 red onion

1 teaspoon brown sugar

Chicken Directions:

1. Combine all the ingredients and puree together in a blendor or food processor. I used my favorite little Magic Bullet.

2. Place chicken and marinade in a large ziploc bag overnight. Note: I pierced the chicen all over with a fork.

3. Then, grill the chicken until juices run clear and then the dice. Since it is winter, I used my handy George Forman grill and it turned out wonderful.

Next, we have the rice. I tried the recipe on the Chipotle fan website (with basmati rice) but found that instant rice works just as well. Save your money. Buy Minute Rice.

Rice Ingredients:

Instant Rice (made according to the package directions -stovetop)

1 lime

2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped

1/2 teaspoon salt

Rice Directions:

1. Cook the instant rice according to directions. Then….this is very important….place a lid on the rice for 30 minutes. DO NOT under any circumstances, remove the lid. This will help the rice steam and get nice and sticky. Got it?

2. Then stir in the cilantro, salt, and juice from one lime.

And of course, the black beans. I kept this simple as well (no need to start with dry beans):

Black Bean Ingredients:

1 teaspooon vegetable oil

1/2 red onion, diced

1 jalapeno, diced (optional, if you are a spice wimp)

1 clove garlic, minced

1 can seasoned black beans

1 teasoon cumin

Black Bean Directions:

1. Sautee the onions, jalapenos, and garlic in a pan for a few minutes until tender.

2. Add the black beans and cumin and simmer for 30 minutes. Simple as that!

Finally, the tomatillo-red sauce. The HOT sauce. I love hot. I will admit that I went crazy on this one and added all kinds of stuff but you know, I ended up getting the right consistency and a nice, flavorful, very spicy sauce…..did it taste exactly like Chipotle? No. But I came pretty close for a first try. Are you ready for this one?

Tomatillo Red Sauce (hot) Ingredients:

3 tomatillos, husked

1 jalapeno, diced in 1-inch pieces

6 serrano peppers, stems removed

4 roma tomatoes

1/2 red onion, sliced

6 cloves garlic

1 can diced fire-roasted tomatoes

________

2 teaspoons lime juice

1 tablespoon kosher salt

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 teaspoon sugar

1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Red Tomatillo Sauce Directions:

1. Place tomatillos on baking sheet and broil for a few minutes until char spots appear.

2. Add tomatillos, jalapeno, roma tomatoes, serrano peppers, red onions, garlic cloves, and diced tomatoes to a large skillet and simmer over medium heat for 30 minutes to get the flavors to develop.

3. Then, add all of the skillet ingredients plus the lime juice, salt, cayenne, sugar, and red pepper flakes to a blender and puree.

4. Refrigerate at least 24 hours.

And the final sauce result:

It looks a lot like Chipotle’s, huh? Woop woop. I was so very proud. 🙂

Then, there are the additional ingredients:

Remaining ingredients:

Flour tortillas, large

Sour Cream (optional)

Monterey Jack & White Cheddar Cheese, freshly shredded and blended together

Note: for the tortillas I put a teaspoon of vegetable oil in a large skillet and lightly browned the tortillas over mediume heat on each side and then…..started layering the ingredients…….

Oh yeah, baby. Unfortunately, I devoured it so quickly that I didn’t get a pretty picture of it stuffed and folded. Sorry.

Mmmmm. Add an ice cold Corona with a slice of lime……and you will be in Chipotle heaven bliss at home.

I hope you like!

6 thoughts on “Chipotle Chicken Burritos

  1. Pingback: Copycat Chipotle Salsa

  2. Ahh! Finally a recipe for the entire biritto! I grew up around chipotle then moved away, now I only have qdoba. No where near as good! Awesome. Awsome. Awesome. I know what to add to the grocery list now 🙂

Leave a Reply

