Game Day Sliders

I love football season. I’m a huge college football fan (Go Buckeyes!) and nothing makes me happier than cooking up a bunch of game day goodies for friends and family and then spending my entire Saturday in front of the tv watching football and drinking beer all day. Oh how I love football Saturdays.

I made this recipe for the first time just a couple of weeks ago and it was a huge hit at a little football party I went to. These are simple to make and soooo good. Men may propose marriage to you though, so don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Oh my, look at this bad boy…screw kale chips. πŸ˜€

 

 

 

 

 

 

Is your mouth watering yet?

RECIPE: Game Day Sliders

Ingredients:

1 pound ground beef

1 block (8 ounce) cheddar cheese

1 package,Β  Lipton Onion Soup Mix

1 tablespoon mayonnaise

1/4 teaspoon garlic power

1 package (12 count) mini hamburger/slider buns

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Shred 1/2 block of the cheddar cheese (should yield about 1 cup). Slice the other half of the cheese block into 12 thin slices and wrap in saran wrap and put back in refrigerator.

2. In a medium sized bowl, thoroughly mix ground beef, 1 cup shredded cheese, onion soup mix, mayonnaise, and garlic powder.

3. Press/flatten hamburger into a 9×13 pan to form a thin layer (about 1/4 thick). Bake for approximately 25-30 minutes until cooked through.

4. Remove from oven and cut hamburger into 12 squares with a pizza cutter or knife. Top with slices of cheese and then place on buns.

5. I individually wrapped the buns in foil and then baked another 10-15 minutes to melt the cheese. They worked perfect for the party because the foil kept them warm. However, to save time, you can just put the buns in a large pan and cover with foil and bake as well.

Serve with pickles (optional).

 

 

 

 

 

 

For a spicy alternative, substitute pepper jack cheese for the cheddar cheese and add one finely chopped jalapeno to the hamburger mixture. Mmmm. Sooo delicious.

Notes:

1. If you want to save calories, you can skip the addition of the cheese slices.Β  I happen to love cheese but they still taste wonderful without the cheese slices.

2. If you can’t find mini hamburger/slider buns, you can also use hot dog buns (cut in half or thirds), hawaiian rolls, or dinner rolls. If you use the rolls or cut the hot dog buns into thirds, they are smaller and will typically yield closer to 24 sliders so you will want to cut your hamburger into smaller pieces.

32 thoughts on “Game Day Sliders

  1. So u dont have to brown the beef first? Just mix all the ingredients with the UNcooked beef, then place all of it in a pan and cook it?

  2. Do you think they would turn out all right, If I just browned the hamburger first, and then mixed all the ingredients together inside a crockpot and let everyone serve themselves?

    • I would suggest mixing it all together, browning them, and then you could put the cooked patties in a warm crockpot for serving. Maybe add a little beef broth to keep them moist.

  3. Pingback: Game Day Sliders | Seasoned with Life

  4. Can you make these without the mayo? They look delicious, but I have a picky hubby! OR, do you even taste it at all? I could just sneak it in there…

  5. All I have to say is OMG…what a great idea….I set out toppings for the guest’s to put on….Sauted mushrooms, avacado’s, pickles, sauted onions,chili and of course mustard, catsup and mayo…..Thanks!

  6. On the header that shows up when I pinned it the ingredients show 2 c. of mayo when the recipe is doubled. Then on the single recipe it shows 1 Tbl. of mayo, wondering which I should use? Tablespoon or cup measurement for mayonnaise?

    • It’s 1 tablespoon of mayo so it would be 2 tablespoons if you double. Someone must have made a type in their header when they repinned. πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Gameday Sliders | Normal Cooking

  8. This may be a silly question, but my giant meat patty shrunk. Is this normal? Should I have smashed it down with a spatula half way through. Also, it was cooked all the way through and did not need an additional 10 minutes. I threw it in the microwave for a few seconds to melt the additional cheese. If you put the bread in the oven with the meat, doesn’t the meat make the bread soggy? I had a lot of grease and juice on the bottom of my pan. I used 85/15 beef. Should I have used better beef? Despite all of my questions, it was delicious. I just want to know what I can do it improve it to make for parties.

  9. These have become a weekly staple at our house – our 3 and 1 yr old love them! And my husband raves about them… which never happens πŸ™‚

    • Fantastic! These also freeze very well! I normally make a huge batch and freeze and just pull out and thaw as I need them. I’m so glad your family likes them. πŸ™‚

      • Do you freeze all made up on the bun with cheese or just the cooked meat? We had these and loved them. Would like to do this for a freezer meal exchange, but not sure how they would come out frozen on the bun and then thawed. Let me know what you’ve tried and what works!

      • I have completely neglected this blog and I’m sorry! Yes, I freeze them on the buns with the meat and cheese and they thaw fine! Or you can just freeze the meat and assemble later.

  10. Making these tonight for our church potluck. The meat is all mixed up, I used colby jack cheese, and waiting. They already smell delious. I can’t wait to see how my church family likes them. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

